Migrating Legacy RTOS Device Drivers to Embedded Linux Webinar

MontaVista Software, Inc. is offering a webinar on Tuesday, December 9, 2008. The webcast will offer helpful information for device developers who are looking to migrate their device interfaces from the VxWorks RTOS to embedded Linux. MontaVista is offering the webinar at two times. An early session at 7 am EST (12pm GMT) allows attendance by developers in Europe and the Middle East, while a later session at 4 pm EST (1pm PT) provides convenience for audiences in the Americas. Each webinar is scheduled for one hour, including time for questions from the audience.

Topics

  • Particulars of legacy VxWorks device interfaces
  • Heuristics, community and MontaVista resources, and examples for migrating to embedded Linux
  • Architecture and conventions of drivers built for VxWorks
  • Guidelines for mapping code and constructs onto Linux 2.6
  • Options for kernel and user space implementations and licensing implications
  • Migration and debugging tools and techniques

Attendees will gain an understanding of the particulars of migrating intricate legacy VxWorks device interfaces and embedded Linux community best practices. They will also learn about the architecture and conventions of drivers built for VxWorks, and will receive straightforward guidelines for mapping code and constructs onto Linux 2.6. The online seminar will examine options for kernel and user space implementations, highlight licensing implications, and present migration and debugging tools and techniques. Each attendee of the webinar will receive a white paper on migrating legacy VxWorks device interfaces to embedded Linux.

More info: Migrating Legacy RTOS Device Drivers to Embedded Linux